Friday, April 11, 2008

New Sloan album confirmed for June 10!

Sloan to release new album Parallel Play on June 10
April 11, 2008, 12:00 am

The follow up to last year's 30-track epic Never Hear the End of It, new album Parallel Play finds the Canadian quartet in top form. A June 10 release date and a summer U.S. tour are planned.

In accordance with Sloan's unique creative dynamics, band members Jay Ferguson, Chris Murphy, Patrick Pentland and Andrew Scott each contribute three songs to Parallel Play (with Andrew clocking in at 4).

Patrick Pentland says of the Sloan process, "I think we create better separately than when we try to do it together. Some times collaboration works, but we're such different people, and all of us are capable song writers and producers, that it doesn't make sense to try to force the band to adhere to some preconceived idea of the typical rock band architecture."

Less a conscious answer to NHTEOI's ambitious unabridged length, "Parallel Play" is a boiled down continuation of the musical concepts put forth on their last album and a further exploration of the band's four-songwriter dynamic. A term taken from the science of developmental psychology, parallel play is a behavior seen in young children in which they enjoy independent activities in the company of other children, something the four boys in Sloan know a lot about.

The track listing and songwriting credits for Parallel Play are as follows:

1. Believe In Me - PATRICK
2. Cheap Champagne - JAY
3. All I Am Is All You’re Not - CHRIS
4. Emergency 911 - ANDREW
5. Burn For It - PATRICK
6. Witch's Wand - JAY
7. The Dogs - ANDREW
8. Living The Dream - CHRIS
9. The Other Side - PATRICK
10. Down In The Basement - ANDREW
11. If I Could Change Your Mind - JAY
12. I'm Not A Kid Anymore - CHRIS
13. Too Many - ANDREW

~Image and information courtesy of Yep Roc

"The Best Albums of 2006, Pts. 1 & 2" :: I wrote it, and Sloan topped it!

No comments: